Irish drama, Kin leads with 13 nominations at this year’s IFTA’s

It’s officially awards season, and the nominations for the Irish Film and Television Awards are in! This year the awards will be held virtually once again and will be taking place next month, on the 12th of March.

Irish comedian, Deirdre O’Kane is set to host the awards ceremony alongside multiple other stars on the night to celebrate Irish talent. The nominations for the IFTA’s were revealed this week, with Irish drama, Kin leading with multiple nominations across the 25 categories.

See below for the full list of nominees across Film and Drama!

Best Film
An Cailín Ciúin
Deadly Cuts
Swan Song
Who We Love
You Are Not My Mother

Best Director – Film
Benjamin Cleary – Swan Song
Colm Bairéad – An Cailín Ciúin
Graham Cantwell – Who We Love
Kate Dolan – You Are Not My Mother
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast

Best Script – Film
Kenneth Branagh – Belfast
Phlip Doherty – Redemption of a Rogue
Benjamin Cleary – Swan Song
Graham Cantwell & Katie McNeice – Who We Love
Kate Dolan – You Are Not My Mother

Actress in a Lead Role – Film
Angeline Ball – Deadly Cuts
Catherine Clinch – An Cailín Ciúin
Gemma-Leah Devereux – The Bright Side
Hazel Doupe – You Are Not My Mother
Niamh Algar – Censor

Actor in a Lead Role – Film
Aaron Monaghan – Redemption of a Rogue
Dónall Ó Héalai – Foscadh
Jude Hill – Belfast
Moe Dunford – Nightride
Peter Coonan – Doineann

Actress in a Supporting Role – Film
Amy-Joyce Hastings – Who We Love
Caitríona Balfe – Belfast
Carrie Crowley – An Cailín Ciúin
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ruth Negga – Passing

Actor in a Supporting Role – Film
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Cillian O Gairbhí – Foscadh
Dean Quinn – Who We Love
Jamie Dornan – Belfast
Tom Vaughan-Lawlor – The Bright Side

Best Drama
Hidden Assets
Vikings Valhalla

Best Director – Drama
Ciaran Donnelly – The Wheel of Time
Dathaí Keane – Smother
Diarmuid Goggins – Kin
Hannah Quinn – Vikings: Valhalla
Lisa Mulcahy – Ridley Road

Best Script – Drama
Declan Croghan – Vikings: Valhalla
Kate O’Riordan – Smother
Morna Regan – Hidden Assets
Peter McKenna – Hidden Assets
Peter McKenna – Kin

Actress in a Lead Role – Drama
Angeline Ball – Hidden Assets
Clare Dunne – Kin
Dervla Kirwan – Smother
Niamh Algar – Deceit
Sinead Keenan – Three Families

Actor in a Lead Role – Drama
Aidan Gillen – Kin
Jimmy Nesbitt – Stay Close
Liam Cunningham – Domina
Sam Keeley – Kin

Actress in a Supporting Role – Drama
Cathy Belton – Hidden Assets
Justine Mitchell – Smother
Lola Petticrew – Three Families
Maria Doyle-Kennedy – Kin
Simone Kirby – Hidden Assets

Actor in a Supporting Role – Drama
Andrew Scott – The Pursuit of Love
Ciaran Hinds – Kin
Emmet J Scanlan – Kin
Owen McDonnell – Three Families
Peter Coonan – Hidden Assets

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award
Castro’s Spies
Love Yourself Today
Pure Grit
The Dance
Young Plato

Short Film
A White Horse
Best Foot Forward
Nothing to Declare
Ship of Souls
The Colour Between
The Passion

Short Animation
Da Humbug
Fall of the Ibis King
Memento Mori

Best Cinematography
Burschi Wojnar – Redemption of a Rogue
James Mather – Kin
Kate McCullough – An Cailín Ciúin
Narayan Van Maele – You Are Not My Mother
Peter Robertson – Vikings: Valhalla

Best Costume Design
Eimear Ní Mhaoldomhnaigh – Foundation
Kathy Strachan – Deadly Cuts
Louise Stanton – An Cailín Ciúin
Susan O’Connor Cave – Vikings: Valhalla
Susan Scott – Zone 414

Best Editing
Dermot Diskin – Kin
John Murphy – An Cailín Ciúin
Nathan Nugent – Swan Song
Tony Cranstoun – Zone 414
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Belfast

Best Original Music
David Holmes – Kin
Die Hexen – You Are Not My Mother
Joseph Conlan – Who We Love
Stephen Rennicks – An Cailín Ciúin
Van Morrison – Belfast

Best Production Design
Derek Wallace – Kin
Emma Lowney – An Cailín Ciúin
Joe Fallover – Wolf
Tamara Conboy – Deadly Cuts
Tom Conroy – Vikings: Valhalla

Best Sound
Aza Hand & Alan Scully – Boys From County Hell
John “Bob” Brennan, Fionan Higgins, Mark Henry, & Andrew Kirwan – Smother
Karl Merren & Johnny Marshell – The Green Knight
Steve Fanagan – Swan Song
Steve Fanagan, John “Bob” Brennan, & Brendan Rehill – An Cailín Ciúin

Best Makeup & Hair
Sian Wilson – Belfast
Lyndsey Herron & Edwina Kelly – Deadly Cuts
Linda Gannon &Clare Lambe – Foundation
Eileen Buggy, Audrey Doyle, & Barrie Gower – The Green Knight
Dee Corcoran, Joe Whelan, &Thomas McInerney – Vikings: Valhalla

Best VFX
Ed Bruce & Andrew Barry – Spider-Man: No Way Home
Ed Bruce & Andrew Barry – The Nevers
Ed Bruce & Manuel Martinez – Swan Song
Ed Bruce & Sam Johnston – The Book of Boba Fett
Kevin Cahill & Eric Saindon – The Green Knight

You can watch the 2022 IFTA Awards Ceremony will on Virgin Media One on Saturday 12th of March. 

Related Stories


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities