The IFTA nominations are here with Saoirse Ronan and Cillian Murphy leading the way

The nominations for the 2020 IFTA TV Awards have been revealed.

Among the big names leading the way with nominations is Saoirse Ronan, Cillian Murphy, and Chris O’ Dowd.

Unlike previous years, this year’s ceremony will look a little different due to the Coronavirus pandemic. While exact details of how the show will look has not yet been released, an announcement on what we can expect will be announced shortly.

Speaking about this year’s unusual events, IFTA Chief Executive, Áine Moriarty says that we all need something to lift our spirits:

“This year’s Nominations showcase to the world what Ireland’s small but excellent film and television community has to offer” she said.

“These past few months have been difficult for so many, and we look forward to a time when Irish productions can resume and continue to bring powerful engaging stories to the screen”.

Check out the full list on nominees below.

Best Film 2019
Black ’47
Float Like a Butterfly
The Dig
The Hole in the Ground

Best Film 2020
A Bump Along the Way
Calm with Horses
Extra Ordinary
Ordinary Love

Best Director – Film
Paddy Breathnach – Rosie
Nora Twomey – The Breadwinner
Lance Daly – Black ’47
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Mike Ahern & Enda Loughman – Extra Ordinary
Lee Cronin – The Hole in the Ground
Lisa Barros D’Sa & Glenn Leyburn – Ordinary Love

Best Script Film
Roddy Doyle – Rosie
Owen McCafferty – Ordinary Love
Joe Murtagh – Calm with Horses
Mark O’Halloran – Rialto
Tom Sullivan – Arracht
Carmel Winters – Float Like a Butterfly

Actress in a Lead Role Film
Jessie Buckley – Wild Rose
Aisling Franciosi – The Nightingale
Bronagh Gallagher – A Bump Along The Way
Sarah Greene – Rosie
Seána Kerslake – The Hole In The Ground
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women

Actor in a Lead Role Film
Dara Devaney – Finky
Moe Dunford – The Dig
Liam Neeson – Ordinary Love
Dónall Ó Héalaí – Arracht
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Rialto
Barry Ward – Extra Ordinary

Actress in a Supporting Role Film
Niamh Algar – Calm With Horses
Catriona Balfe – Le Mans ’66
Seána Kerslake – Dublin Oldschool
Charlie Murphy – Dark Lies The Island
Emily Taaffe – The Dig
Catherine Walker – We Ourselves

Actor in a Supporting Role Film
Lorcan Cranitch – The Dig
Dara Devaney – Arracht
Barry Keoghan – Calm With Horses
Ian Lloyd-Anderson – Dublin Oldschool
Stephen Rea – Black ’47
David Wilmot – Ordinary Love

The George Morrison Feature Documentary Award
The Image you Missed
The Lonely Battle of Thomas Reid
When All is Ruin Once Again

Best Drama
Death and Nightingales
Dublin Murders

Best Director – Drama
Anthony Byrne – Peaky Blinders
John Hayes – Dublin Murders
Lisa Mulcahy – Blood
Hannah Quinn – Blood
Aisling Walsh – Elizabeth is Missing
Dearbhla Walsh – The Handmaid’s Tale

Best Script Drama
Ronan Bennett – Top Boy
Daragh Carville – The Bay
Mark O’Connor – Darklands
Mark O’Rowe – Temple

Actress in a Lead Role Drama
Niamh Algar – The Virtues
Caitriona Balfe – Outlander
Jessie Buckley – The Woman in White
Sarah Greene – Dublin Murders
Ruth Negga – Preacher
Ann Skelly – Death and Nightingales

Actor in a Lead Role Drama
Richard Dormer – Fortitude
Adrian Dunbar – Line Of Duty
Brendan Gleeson – Mr Mercedes
Cillian Murphy – Peaky Blinders
Chris O’Dowd – Get Shorty
Andrew Scott – Black Mirror – Smithereens

Actress in a Supporting Role Drama
Niamh Algar – Pure
Helen Behan – The Virtues
Ruth Bradley – Guilt
Jessie Buckley – Chernobyl
Ingrid Craigie – Blood
Fiona Shaw – Killing Eve

Actor in a Supporting Role Drama
Liam Cunningham – Game of Thrones
Barry Keoghan – Chernobyl
Owen McDonnell – Killing Eve
Cillian O’Gairbhi – Blood
Mark O’Halloran – The Virtues
Tom Vaughan Lawlor – Dublin Murders

Ciúnas (Silence)
El Hor
Here’s Looking at you Kid!
Sister This
The Grass Ceiling
The Vasectomy Doctor
Welcome To A Bright White Limbo

Outside the Box
Streets of Fury
The Bird & the Whale
The Dream Report
The Overcoat

Best Cinematography
Tom Comerford – The Hole in the Ground
Andrew McConnel – Gaza
Kate McCullough – Arracht
Piers McGrail – Never Grow Old
Robbie Ryan – Marriage Story
Cathal Watters – Rosie

Best Costume Design
Joan Bergin – The Catcher was a Spy
Clodagh Deegan – Arracht
Triona Lillis – Float Like A Butterfly
Eimear Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh – The Rhythm Section
Susan O’Connor Cave – Vikings
Louise Stanton – Rosie

Best Editing
Colin Campbell – The Hole in The Ground
Dermot Diskin – Never Grow Old
Michael Harte – Three Identical Strangers
Tony Kearns – Black Mirror: Bandersnatch
Mick Mahon – Gaza
Úna Ní Dhonghaíle – Rosie

Best Original Music
KÍLA – Arracht
Stephen McKeon – The Hole in the Ground
Stephen Rennicks – The Little Stranger
Brian Byrne – Black ’47
Ray Harman – Blood
Stephen Rennicks – Rosie

Best Production Design
Tom Conroy – The Rhythm Section
Damien Creagh – Calm with Horses
Conor Dennison – The Hole in the Ground
John Leslie – Never Grow Old
Padraig O’Neil – Arracht
Anna Rackard – The Trial of Christine Keeler

Best Sound
Brendan Rehill & Alan Scully – Arracht
Fionáin Higgins & Robert Flanagan – Black ’47
Ronan Hill, Danny Crowley & Simon Kerr – Game of Thrones
Aza Hand, Karen O’Mahony and Patrick Drummond – Never Grow Old
Hugh Fox & Niall Brady – Rosie
Steve Fanagan & Niall Brady – The Little Stranger

Best Makeup & Hair-
Niamh O’Loan – Arracht
Linda Gannon & Liz Byrne – Black ’47
Louise Myler – Finky
Polly McKay – Ordinary Love
Dee Corcoran & Tom McInerney – Vikings
Eileen Buggy & Jennifer Hegarty – Vita & Virginia

Best VFX
Jim O’Hagan and Ronan Gantly – Game of Thrones
Ed Bruce – The Favourite
Ed Bruce and Jim O’Hagan – The Irishman
Ed Bruce and Nicholas Murphy – We Have Always Lived in the Castle


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities