Derry Girls creator Lisa McGee wins prestigious award

Lisa McGee Pic: Brian McEvoy

Derry Girls is one of our favourite TV shows.

We still quote it all the time, it made us laugh and it even made us cry.

Yes, it wasn’t just a comedy, it also highlighted some serious issues, especially in regards the Troubles in Northern Ireland.

Now, the creator Lisa McGee has been awarded the 28th Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize.

lisa mcgee derry girls

This prestigious award recognises work promoting peace and reconciliation and a greater understanding between the people of Ireland and Britain.

She won the prize for the final episode of Derry Girls which focused on the groundbreaking Good Friday Agreement in 1998.

The award ceremony took place on Tuesday evening at the Irish Embassy in London.

She was presented the award by Line of Duty actor Adrian Dunbar who hails from Enniskillen in Fermanagh.

The other shortlisted entries for the Memorial Prize were the books by Huw Bennett, Uncivil War: the British Army and the Troubles, 1966-1975 and Marilynn Richtarik, Getting to Good Friday: Literature and the Peace Process in Northern Ireland; Michael Magee’s novel, Close to Home; Owen McCafferty stage play, Agreement; and the five-part BBC TV series Once Upon a Time in Northern Ireland.

Congratulations Lisa, what an incredible achievement.

Related Stories


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities