Met Eireann issue rain and thunderstorm warning for these 20 counties

Met Eireann has issued a rainfall warning for a number of counties across the country today.

The warning, which says there is a risk of ‘thundery downpours’, is valid from Sunday at 6pm to Monday at 23:59.

The affected counties are:

Cork, Clare, Kerry, Tipperary, Waterford, Limerick, Mayo, Roscommon, Leitrim, Galway, Sligo, Carlow, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Offaly and Westmeath.

“Most areas will begin dry tonight with mist and shallow fog patches forming,” Met Eireann say on their website.

“A batch of rain will quickly move up from the south to affect all areas overnight. The rain will be heavy widely, with prolonged and thundery downpours in places and a risk of flooding.

Picture: Met Eireann

“Lowest temperatures of 3 to 7 degrees, fresh southeast winds. Winds will be strong and gusty near southwest coasts.

“Heavy and locally thundery rain will occur widely during Monday morning with the potential for further flooding in places. Clearer drier conditions following into the south and west during the morning will follow northeastwards during the late afternoon and evening.

“Highest temperatures 10 to 14 degrees. Winds will be mostly moderate to fresh and variable in direction.”


Related Stories


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities