The day has come that we’ve all been dreading…Netflix is officially cracking down on password sharing here in Ireland.
The global streaming service has confirmed the news in a statement this week.
“Starting today, we will be sending this email to members who are sharing Netflix outside their household in Ireland,” the statement reads.
“A Netflix account is for use by one household. Everyone living in that household can use Netflix wherever they are – at home, on the go, on holiday – and take advantage of new features like Transfer Profile and Manage Access and Devices.
“We recognise that our members have many entertainment choices. It’s why we continue to invest heavily in a wide variety of new films and TV programmes – so whatever your taste, mood or language or whoever you’re watching with, there’s always something satisfying to watch on Netflix.”
So how can you share your Netflix account with your family?
Netflix has given two different options for people “outside your household”
You can transfer a profile. Netflix describes this as “anyone on your account can transfer a profile to a new membership that they pay for”.
Or you can buy an extra member. They explain: “You can share your Netflix account with someone who doesn’t live with you for €4.99/month more.”
Earlier this year, they stated: “Netflix accounts are still shareable, but only within one household. To ensure that your devices are associated with your primary location, Netflix is now asking users to connect to the Wi-Fi at your primary location, open the Netflix app or website, and watch something at least once every 31 days.”
They added that if anyone does try to log-in from a different location they will be asked to sign up for their own account instead and “block their access until they do”.
“Netflix will not begin automatically charging account holders whose information is used outside of their homes.”
You can find out more at Netflix’s help centre.