Female writers dominate at Irish Book Awards

Irish Book Awards 2018
Emer McLysaght Sarah Breen


The Irish book awards took place on Tuesday night at The Clayton Hotel in Dublin.

The Irish women nominated in the award show dominated with a majority of the prizes.

Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen, Liz Nugent, Sally Rooney and Lynn Ruane were among the winners on the night.

The hugely popular Skin Deep by Liz Nugent won big on the night, taking home the prize for both Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year and The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners’ Choice Award.

Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen’s second book in the Aisling series The Importance of Being Aisling was named Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year.

Irish Book Awards 2018

Blazing a Trail by Sarah Webb and Lauren O’Neill won National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year.

Lynn Ruane also picked up the price for Onside Non-Fiction Book of the Year, for People Like Us,while Cora Staunton was awarded Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year, for Game Changer.

Irish Book Awards 2018

The An Post Irish Book Awards is now in its 13th year and was presented by RTÉ Six One co-anchor Keelin Shanley.

Other winners included was Notes to Self by Emilie Pine who won Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year was the much talked about

You can check out the full list of winners here.

Check out some of the guests and winners who attended below.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities