Winner of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year goes to Dublin act

Last night saw the return of the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, live and in person! The event was held in Dublin’s Vicar Street and saw the RTÉ Choice Music Prize Irish Album of the Year 2021 announced alongside exclusive performances from eight of the acts nominated.

The event was hosted by Tracey Clifford and saw The Cranberries’ Noel Hogan announce the winner which went to Dublin act, For Those I Love. He went home with a a cheque for €10,000, as well as a specially-commissioned award.

The full list of artists nominated for album of the year were;

Bicep – Isles (Ninja Tune)
Mick Flannery & Susan O’Neill – In the Game (Rosaleen Records / Rosa Productions)
For Those I Love – For Those I Love (September Recordings)
Orla Gartland – Woman on the Internet (New Friends Music)
HousePlants – Dry Goods (Bone China Records)
Kojaque – Town’s Dead (Soft Boy Records)
Elaine Mai – Home (Elaine Mai)
Saint Sister – Where I Should End (Saint Sister)
Soda Blonde – Small Talk (Velveteen Records)
Villagers – Fever Dreams (Domino)

The winner of Irish Song of the Year for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize was revealed before the event yesterday on RTÉ 2FM’s Tracey Clifford Show. It came as no surprise to many that it was Dermot Kennedy who scooped the award!

Announcing the award was The Script’s Danny O’Donoghue, who revealed that Dermot’s hit ‘Better Days’ was selected from the shortlist of 10 songs by a public vote.

The full list of artists nominated were;

Bobbi Arlo – Feel It
Dermot Kennedy – Better Days
Elaine Mai – No Forever feat. MayKay
Inhaler – It Won’t Always Be Like This
Jack O’ Rourke – Sea Swimming
Kynsy – Mr Nice Guy
Picture This – Things are Different
Shane Codd – Always on My Mind feat. Charlotte Haining
Soda Blonde – Small Talk
Soulé – Queenish


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

google ads
VIP Live - The home of Irish celebrities